Max Verstappen won the first Grand Prix of the 2024 Formula 1 season

Dutch driver Max Verstappen (Red Bull) won the Bahrain Grand Prix, the first race of the 2024 Formula 1 World Championship season, held at the Sakhir circuit on Saturday.

Max Verstappen Photo EPA EFE

The reigning world champion, starting from pole position, dominated the race from one end to the other, obtaining on this occasion the 55th victory of his career, according to Agerpres.

“Mad Max” was 22 sec 457/1000 ahead of the Mexican Sergio Perez, his colleague from Red Bull, ranked second.

The third position was occupied by the Spaniard Carlos Sainz Jr (Ferrari), at 25 sec 110/1000.

It was Red Bull's 114th victory since entering Formula 1 20 years ago, which saw them level Williams for fourth in the all-time Grand Prix standings dominated by the team Ferrari, with 243 successes.

The next Grand Prix of the season from “The Great Circus”' will take place in Saudi Arabia, next Saturday.

Bahrain Grand Prix standings:

1. Max Verstappen (Netherlands/Red Bull) 1h 31: 44.742

2. Sergio Perez (Mexico/Red Bull) +22,457

3. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain/Ferrari) +25,110

4. Charles Leckerc (Monaco/Ferrari) +39,669

5. George Russell (Great Britain/Mercedes) +46,788

6. Lando Norris (Great Britain/McLaren) +48.458

7. Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain/Mercedes) +50,324

8. Oscar Piastri (Australia/McLaren) +56,082

9. Fernando Alonso (Spain/Aston Martin) +74,887

10. Lance Stroll (Canada/Aston Martin) +93.216